Engage!- Chapter 11

21 Feb

This chapter discusses syndication, illustration and aggregation.  This is also where my social media cognition stumbles and eventually drops off.

Solis talks about creating seamless streams of content from one network to the other (for example, posting on tumblr, which then gets automatically tweeted, which then gets shared on Facebook… I think…) to increase your brand’s SEO and SMO.  That’s all fine and dandy, until you mess up the process and all of the sudden you’ve got the same post coming through multiple times and getting lost and sending users in a circle until they eventually want to just throw their computer out of the window… at least, that’s what I want to do when trying to figure out how all of this works.

I understand that this idea of syndication is meant to make things simpler and flow more smoothly, but I personally find it a lot easier to keep track of things when I do everything manually.  Of course, there is a reason I am not a social media strategist.  But it really does seem to be a lot more complicated than it should be, getting people to navigate your web content.  Guiding users to the endpoint, a destination or “hub” that Solis says needs to be determined in the beginning, reminds me of a lab maze where every piece of cheese represents a useful click on a web page to eventually get you, the rat, to the goal.

When you get down to it, you just learn so much about how calculated successful social media plans really are.  And I don’t think I can ever do anything like this with my life.  I just like to post clever things and cynical social commentary on Facebook.  Even with all of this evidence in front of my face, I just find it really hard to give in and accept that this is the way things are going to be now.

Leave a Reply

